The Colony Police Department Records Division is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays). Four full-time employees staff this division.
Accident reports are available after 3 to 5 business days. Due to the $6 payment fee, Accident Reports Requests must be made in person at the police records window or you may visit: https//cris.txdot.gov/public/purchase to purchase an accident report online using the Texas Department of Transportation Crash Report Online Purchase Systems. (Allow 3 to 5 business days for the accident report to be updated in their system). Offense reports (burglary, theft, assault, etc.,) are free of charge, unless the report exceeds 10 pages then a fee of $0.10 per page will be required. For Open Case Report Requests, only the front-page / Summary Report will be available.
Readily available offense reports (front page only) are available for the last three years. The police blotter is available for the current working year and one previous year. Accident reports are available for the current working year and two previous years.
The police blotter (activities that occur during each shift of each day) can be viewed while the Records Division is open. To view the police blotter, call 972-625-8273 to make an appointment.
In requesting information pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act. I understand if I am requesting information concerning a pending criminal case or investigation, I will receive only the front-page or basic information. I understand The Colony Police Department has ten (10) business days and in some instances fifteen (15) business days to process my request. In addition, I understand The Colony Police Department may request an opinion from the Texas Attorney General’s office concerning the release of the requested information. Further, I understand there may be charges assessed for processing my request. These costs are established by state law. I understand The Colony Police Department will assess the applicable charges provided by state law. Moreover, should the request result in charges exceeding $40.00, I understand I will be sent a cost estimate letter before the request is processed. I must respond to the cost estimate letter in a timely fashion. I understand I will be contacted when my request is completed. I understand completed requests will be held for only the time period provided by state law. After that date, the request will be considered withdrawn.
Please contact Police Records for more information. If you have a request for any public information, you may download and print out the appropriate Request Form below or submit the request online. Body cam video requests will be processed within 20 business days.